Well, shit.

The title pretty much sums it up. I blew it this week in a big way. Not only did I eat ridiculously “bad” all week, but I also didn’t get a single workout in. It’s amazing how gross I feel now after not doing anything all week. I guess that’s a sign that my body isn’t rejecting the exercise anymore but is actually expecting it now.

I can sit here and make excuses and say that work was too busy and we had guests in town for a couple nights and I just couldn’t find the time, but the truth is I could have. I just didn’t. I feel a like a loser. I was doing so good and had stuck with it for a whole month and then BAM! Nothing.

OK, enough beating myself up. I will hit it super hard this week. Tomorrow I am going to the Y to run for a bit and then I’m going to hit the pool for a nice swim. I seriously heart swimming. In fact, when we finally get to the point where we can build our underground house we want so bad, we’ll be having an enclosed pool built in with it (even if that means postponing the build a couple years). I would swim every.single.day. if we had that, especially if all I had to do was throw on my suit and walk across the house. OMG, that would be so flippin’ sweet!! I might never leave the house. Like, EVER.

Uh, sorry. Got a little sidetracked there. I almost forgot to tell you that I registered Des and I for our first run today! It’s a mile run on March 27th, but I figure that is a totally doable goal considering that we’re just now to Week 1 on the official program despite doing this for a full 4 weeks. March 27th. Just about 2 months from today. We can do that, right? So yeah, back to it tomorrow and I will feel so much better this week and I shall update again soon.


9 responses to “Well, shit.

  • synchronicity

    I feel bad because we kinda contributed to your delinquency. But as another friend of mine often says “Don’t let the Perfect be the enemy of the Good”. Best of luck on the run, and FWIW once the new gig starts I plan to work out very regularly as well. Seeing you do it is a motivational tool.

    And if we do get SyncManor, one condition of you guys visiting will be that you will be FORCED to go swimming. 🙂

    • Jana

      OH, THE HORROR!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Thanks, btw. It helps to know that this blabber is helping other people too.

      • Minxie

        I just came across this via your FB and you all have inspired me to get off my fat bum. If you have seen my recent post, you’ll see The Wombat is inspiring me, too. 😉

  • tina

    OK- I said I would post on your blog and make it all about me and I have not done that until now.
    So, insert all of the I work 50-60 hours a week and travel another 14 and it is either 20 degrees or snowing a foot excuses, get ready for scrollyness.
    I finally got off the fence and started.

    This morning, at 5:10 i said Blaaaargh, rolled out of the comfy Marriott bed and into my sneakers.
    I also am not-so-good on a treadmill, since i can just step off and stop whenever.
    Took the elevator down to the second floor, went to one stairwell, ran through the halls to the next one (that is a 30 second jog- how convenient! – not a sprint) and walked up the stairs to the next floor.
    Ran through the halls, wash rinse repeat.
    All in all I ran hallways & walked stairwells 2 up through 11, back down to 2 and back up to 8.
    I walked the last two floors – total 32 minutes.
    blast you and your motivation and accountability…

  • Jana

    HEHE! Good for you! I went swimming for an hour on Sunday but have not done anything since because we were preparing for Snowmaggedon 2011. It has now arrived and it looks like I won’t be going anywhere until at least tomorrow afternoon. Maybe I’ll pop in the Zumba and make a fool of myself in my living room.

    I can just picture you running through the halls and the people just waking up and opening their door to grab the free USA Today that is provided (or whatever paper) to witness it. I would have loved to see that for myself!

    • tina

      fortunately (for all involved) i only encountered one person on my trek through the halls.
      I came by just as he opened the door and I think he was a wee bit surprised…
      It seems the Washington Post and USA today are pretty evenly represented in front of the doors – i do not request a paper

  • Jana

    Oh, and feel free to come and talk about nothing but *you* anytime!! 🙂

  • tina

    this morning- stairs only -from floor 8 down to 2,
    stairs only back up to 11. Alternating stairs & hallways back down to 2 and back up to 8 – this alternating is 30 seconds run or jog in hallways/15 seconds walking on stairs.
    I can feel it today.

  • Michelle

    Just updated my blog and got to thinking about you and Des. How’s it going this week? And congrats on registering for your first mile run!!

Leave a comment