…keep moving forward.

The quote Jana posted really struck home for me; this inspiration came to me last week and this quote describes it perfectly

“If you can’t fly, then run. If you can’t run, then walk. If you can’t walk, then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.”

Driving in my car last week, this thought just came over me.  It only takes “ONE” more step to move forward.  Surely I can find the strength for just one more step.   

Then a couple of days later my new physical therapist told me a story.  One of his patients was severely over weight and she was telling him she can barely make it to the mailbox.  He told her not to be discouraged that ANY progress is still progress.  He suggested to her that every day she add a couple of steps.  Go just one more square on the sidewalk, then go to the neighbors mailbox, and then to the end of the street.  Even if it takes you a year….it’s still progress.  He said he lost touch with her and a couple of years later they crossed paths.  He didn’t even recognize her, she had lost well over 100 lbs.  She cried when she saw him and said that she did just what he said.  Mailbox, one more square, neighbors mailbox, end of the street, and before she knew it around the block.

So you can see how MLK, Jr’s quote resonated with me.  It’s going to be my mantra through this process.

It even works with over eating.  Just have 2 less chips than you had yesterday, 1 less soda, 1 less french fry.  It’s OK if you can’t give it ALL up.  Just one less is still progress and something you should feel good about.

Little by little, day by day, moment by moment ….. Your changing.

About desarayann

#1 Fan of Killer Afternoon View all posts by desarayann

Leave a comment